Metavalent Stigmergy

How New Default Consensus Realities Instantiate

Tomorrow - ASIM Experts Series on Brain Machine Interfacing

Max Hodak will give a talk in Teleplace tomorrow, October 17, 2010, at 10am PST (1pm EST, 6pm UK, 7pm CET).

From CarbonCopies.org - Realistic routes to substrate independent minds.

What is Advancing Substrate-Independent Minds (ASIM)?<blockquote>In the past the transferal of minds into computer-based systems has been rather vaguely referred to as ‘uploading’. However, those hoping to advance this multidisciplinary field of research prefer to use the term Advancing Substrate Independent Minds (ASIM), to emphasize a more scientific, and less science fiction approach to creating emulations of human brains in substrates other than the original biological substrate. The term ASIM captures the fact that there are several ways in which hardware and software may be used to run algorithms which mimic the human brain, and that there are many different approaches that can be used to realize this objective.

Once you implement the functions originally carried out in one substrate in the computational hardware of another substrate you have achieved substrate-independence for those functions.</blockquote>

Written on October 16, 2010


}